Mulert Award

Applications for the 2025 Mulert Award are now open. Please apply here via a quick and short online form. Application deadline is Sunday, February 2, 2025. The winner of the award will be announced in a festive award ceremony at the association’s Spring Ball in early 2025.

Annual Award Information

The Jürgen Mulert Award for Mutual Understanding (short: Mulert Award) is granted once a year by the German Fulbright Alumni Association to an outstanding former participant of the worldwide Fulbright program. Applicants and awardees include distinct founders, researchers, artists, professionals and/or volunteers across disciplines, whose work and projects reflect and advance discourse and peace through mutual understanding.

Applicants and their projects may be professional or volunteer, and may have an artistic, social, economic or similar character. We particularly encourage and support applications of projects with a strong focus on promoting mutual understanding. Select awardees and their exceptional projects are highlighted under Latest Updates on the bottom of this page.

The prize package for the Mulert Award winner includes:

  • Recognition and award reception during a festive ceremony at the association’s Spring Ball in Germany, as a stage for the winner to personally present their project
  • Project summary and biography in the next issue of the annual member’s magazine FRANKly as well as on the association’s website and on social media
  • 1,000 EUR monetary support for the awarded project
  • Networking opportunities within the Fulbright Alumni community
  • Full travel support to the award ceremony (within Europe)

The call for application is released annually via our member newsletter and is published under the news section on our website.

Founder of the Fulbright Alumni Association –
The Life of Juergen Mulert

Since 2010, the German Fulbright Alumni Association has granted the Mulert Award in memory of the association’s initiator and founder, Dr. Jürgen Mulert (1938-2008).

After half a year of planning and preparation, the Association was founded in Frankfurt am Main on January 24, 1986. Countless returnees from prior years were contacted, and Jürgen Mulert and fiften others were the inaugural members.

Frankfurt was chosen as the association’s home for several reasons. It is the geographical center of Germany, many committed Fulbrighters were gathered there, and last but not least, a (Fulbright-) law office there supported the Association in notarial matters. One year later, Jürgen Mulert moved to Frankfurt to work at the city’s main university.

New Frontiers

In addition to those within the Associations he founded, he has held many voluntary positions. He was lay judge at the Administrative Court in Stuttgart from 1975 to 1980, lay judge at the Administrative Court in Weimar from 1997, and in various committees of the Chamber of Commerce. Law, principally the law of the Roman Empire, was his passion. He revered the Humanists and wrote these few lines called the THE DIOGENES DECLARATION: Do it out of general esteem for Mankind.

Talents and Passions

He spoke English and French fluently, revered Jacques Rousseau, Charles Dickens, Maria Callas and the Beatles.

Italy was the country which most attracted him, and he decided to hike from Erfurt to Rome over two weeks every summer. For each successive year, he would continue the hike where he left it the year before.

Latest Updates on the Award